2019 C1st Scholarship Recipients


posted on 5/13/2019 in General

Community 1st Credit Union 2019 Scholarships totaling $42,000 will be awarded to 19 area high school seniors in May.

The credit union has announced the recipients of two $4,000 continuing education scholarships and 17 additional awards of $2,000 each.

The 2019 C1st $4,000 scholarships went to Hollie Loper of Pekin High School and Madeline Holle of Oskaloosa High School. Loper was the top applicant among credit union members who are their family’s first generation to attend college. Holle was the winner among C1st employees’ children.

The C1st $2,000 scholarship winners include:

  • Abigail Adams of Chariton High School
  • Brandon Bone of Ottumwa High School 
  • Erin Duenwald of Pella Community High School
  • Henry Hammer of Ottumwa High School 
  • Alexis Harrington of Moravia High School 
  • Sarah Herz of Albia Community School 
  • Lauren Imhoff of Keota Jr./Sr. High School 
  • Rylie Johnson of Davis County High School
  • Jacqueline Lensing of Pella Community High School
  • Mickayla McGill of Knoxville High School
  • Noah Mumby of Iowa Valley (Marengo) High School
  • Briar Phillips of Indianola High School
  • Bryanna Popejoy of Fairfield High School
  • Zoe Runyon of Mount Pleasant High School
  • Sandra Skouson of Grinnell Community Sr. High School
  • Grace Ver Steegh of Oskaloosa High School
  • Nathan Zmolek of Davis County High School

The C1st Scholarships will be given out at area high school scholarship award events in May. The credit union has a long tradition of supporting local communities and education through its scholarship program. C1st partnered with Scholarship America this year to enhance the program’s administration and application process. Scholarship America is a non-profit organization that partners with businesses to provide education assistance and recognition programs.

Visit our Blog!

Stay connected with C1st by subscribing to our blog, featuring news, events, articles and more!